“L.”

Recently I’ve started using they/them pronouns. For a while I went by she/they, thinking I was simply being a good ally and advocate. But the they stuck with me, wound around my guts, took root within me. It blossomed in me memories of an awkward teenager wearing men’s flannel shirts from the Tractor Supply Company or wearing a tie and vest to the 8th grade formal dance. But that was the 90s and the option of they wasn’t on anyone’s lips.

Now as an adult, I’m still figuring things out, coloring in the lines of my self, coloring over old versions. It’s messy and imperfect, but so much more comfortable than the itchy dress I wore to prom. 

All of this is to introduce my latest publication, which deals a lot with accepting yourself, the things you can bury, and the things that won’t stay buried.

“L.” is featured in this gorgeous Volume 4 of If There’s Anyone Left, which is available as an e-book here.

Trigger warnings for this piece include death and dead naming.

Cover art by @sierrabravoart.bsky.social

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑